1er forum eMarketing – février 2007

by

entete_forumemarketing2007.jpg

OX2 a envoyé un petit comité exploratoire au 1er forum eMarketing à Paris, qui se tenait du 12 au 13 février 2007 dans les bâtiments de la Cité des Sciences de la Vilette, comité composé de Julien et de moi-même.

Voici un focus qui porte principalement sur les conférences du 13 février sur le ROI et les Web Analytics.

Weborama

Un acteur historique des Web Analytics en France, même si ils ont eu du mal à se détacher du modèle “compteur de site Web”.
Société de 27 personnes en France & en Espagne, côté sur l’Alternext depuis 2006.

Ils ont cela dit réussi à accumuler pendant 8 ans un “trésor de guerre” de 22 million de profils utilisateurs dont ils se servent pour faire du profiling et servir du contenu. A voir, surtout à une époque où les cookies tiers sont allègrement effacés. Mais bon…

Démonstration de la collaboration avec BNP-Paribas pour des campagnes en 2006 dont des top topicals pour le tournoi de tennis de Rolland Garros. Il s’agit de campagnes plurimédia. BNP annonce que 10% de leur budget comm’ en moyenne est alloué au Web !

Quel est l’intérêt de Weborama? Pas très clair mais leur notion de “tiers de confiance” a l’air intéressante. A creuser…
Leur AdPerf(tm) est apparemment plus qu’un adserver. Il s’agit d’un outil de pilotage de campagne Internet à part entière.

Ensuite vient une explication liée à la campagne BNP « Give me 5 » avec MPG Mediacontacts.

Pas de réelle information sur la transformation (conversion), comme l’appelle les français. Apparement la notion de conversion est très difficile à calculer et pas de réponse à la question : combien de leads par rapport aux nombres de visiteurs ou de visites.

Les chiffres lachés par BNP semblent très faibles mais ils avaient l’air super contents donc on ne peut pas s’empêcher d’être contents pour eux aussi 🙂 En revanche, ils portent un fort intérêt non seulement à calculer les clics uniques par rapport aux clics totaux , mais aussi à propos du capping pour savoir au bout de combien d’expositions (impressions) un surfeur passerait à l’action.

J’ai quand même appris quelque chose : le taux de recouvrement des médias était de 29%. So what ? J’ai dû louper un truc…
Bref, de l’acquisition pure sans réelle transposition vers la raison de la campagne, hors le branding. Les informations récoltées durant cette campagne ne devraient pas être bien différentes des conclusions que nous connaissons déjà : le référencement, ça vaut la peine et c’est pas cher !

Unica

Notre ami Georges Anidjar, anciennement Omniture (à peine 8 mois), nous a fait une jolie présentation de son nouvel employeur, Unica.
Unica, c’est 450 clients, coté au Nasdaq depuis 1992 (UNCA).

Revirement à fond marketing et end-to-end pour Unica par rapport à la présentation précédente de Weborama : on ne fait pas qu’égratiner la surface, c’est en avant toute pour l’intégration !

C’est là où en effet, en intégrant, nous commençons à parler de détection événementielle et de modèles prédictifs afin de pousser la personnalisation, soutenu par un module de gestion des leads.

Quelques exemples à la clé :

  • Freshdirect, pure player Internet de la vente de produits frais/bio
  • Cinergy – dans le secteur énergétique.

George cite quelques obstacles à l’intégration :

  1. Ressources & organisation
  2. Données
  3. Architecture

Unica propose une solution hébergée ou on demand. Il s’agit d’un produit apparemment ouvert, tout comme WebTrends (merci Georges).

Nedstat France

La cata avec Christelle Oblin de Nedstat et Laurent Barat de Nurun Inc.

Ne rentrons même pas dans les détails techniques de cette solution qui semblerait être hébergée, on ne sait pas trop où d’après les rumeurs. Faites vous bien certifier où vos données sont collectées, stockées  et traitées. Ne pas faire attention à ces considérations peut vous exposer à plusieurs problèmes légaux dont vous pouvez aisément vous passer…

C’est sans doute une des raisons pour laquelle Omniture ne s’est pas empressé de reprendre les nombreux clients de Nedstat – excompteur gratuit oblige – et a plutôt choisi un acteur sérieux et fiable comme Instadia ?

Passons sur la présentation scolaire de Mme ou Mlle Oblin qui nous a gentilment rappelé ce que sont des KPIs et comment classifier les types de sites, le tout sous un arrière-goût de quelques guerres de retard. Elle nous a également rappelé la fiabilité technique de la solution (sic/lol, à vous de voir). Un SLA avec ça, ce serait quand même faisable, non ?

Mr. Barat nous a entourloupé dans un laïus sur l’ergonomie où, si on y pense réellement, n’était en fait pas de l’ergonomie mais plutôt de l’architecture persuasive – si, si, je vous assure, cela a un nom et même 2 bouquins à son actif de FutureNow et les fameux frères Eisenberg.

Revoyez votre copie, s’il vous plaît Mr. Barat et surtout si vous nous parlez de grands flux de navigation, comme si les Internautes pouvaient être vus comme un troupeau de vaches qui ne sortaient jamais des sentiers battus.

J’aime beaucoup les termes « Sitestat Explorer Dynamique de Parcours » mais si c’est pour me dire que non, non, nous n’allons pas regarder si nos Internautes ont bien suivi le chemin décrit dans la phase d’ergonomie (sic), je n’en vois pas très bien l’intérêt…

WebSideStory & Ogilvy avec Nestlé Baby

Que dire d’Antoine Janning si ce n’est que je lui ferais confiance pour gérer mes Web Analytics en bon père de famille. Une valeur sûre, un produit qui se construit peu à peu avec les meilleurs à la tête. Eric Peterson, personne n’oserait cracher dessus. Il faudrait juste qu’il soit connu en France…

Des modules qui s’emboîtent logiquement pour mesurer votre référencement, vos Web Analytics, votre recherche interne et se pluggent sur votre CMS. Rajoutez là-dessus les modules de call centers, de datawarehouse et de messaging issues de la famille Visual Sciences et vous obtiendrez une belle promesse pour l’avenir, vos besoins et leur évolution.

La vision de WSS se retrouve dans les slides de maturité du marché (merci Eric P.) où WSS prévoit pour 2006 l’avènement de l’année du reporting pour attendre 2010 avant de voir du recrutement et de la réelle analyse.

Les paris sont ouverts. A quand les Web Analytics intelligents ? Je vous réfère à Jim Novo, il dit cela tellement mieux que moi !

Si vous avez des commentaires constructifs, n’hésitez pas à nous en faire part!

4 Responses to “1er forum eMarketing – février 2007”

  1. liveswordfish Says:

    who do you think you are, bad-mouthing Christelle Oblin like that, It seems to me you are the one who does not know what they are talking about, I have had many dealings with Christelle, and have found her knowledge of web analytics very uplifting, you have done yourself no favours by writing such tarnished rubbish, I would suggest you remove the text regarding Christelle Oblin at once.
    This is nothing more than slander.

  2. Aurélie Pols Says:

    Dear Liveswordfish@yahoo.fr,

    First of all, please excuse my late reply as I took the liberty of reflecting upon your anonymous English rant about this post – initially written in French – and your request to remove the text concerning Christelle Oblin.
    Please also allow me to explain to you why I will not comply with your requirements as this does not reflect the philosophy of this blog.

    More specifically, you ask “who I think I am” and in order to assure full transparency, please allow me to elaborate while noting, again, that your comment (the 3rd one on this blog without real added value) is anonymous, which I find very unfortunate.

    As you might have read, I am an almost 35 year old woman (I’ll be celebrating my next birthday in May while attending the Emetrics summit in San Francisco) called Aurelie Pols, I’m Dutch, French speaking (note that I also speak English, understand German and read Hebrew).
    My background is in econometrics (economics with statistics) and I also hold a Master in Ebusiness where I fortunately met my Spanish husband, René Dechamps Otamendi (so he speaks English, French, Spanish and understands Italian).
    We decided to set-up an Interactive Agency in Belgium over 4 years ago now called OX2.
    I pushed for accountability in all actions undertaken for our clients (please review our mission statement) and set-up a dedicated Web Analytics business unit some 3 years ago.
    Since then, I’ve been Web Analytics Team Leader for a team of 6 today and like anyone in the sector, I’m recruiting intelligent, forward thinking, knowledge-thirsty individuals to complement my team.

    I’ve worked for Swiss Life (set-up a loyalty cell as my first job), a pan European start-up called Planet Medica during the dot.com boom & bust (unfortunately) and then Deutsche Bank as business analyst but mostly in order to set-up their first retail website in Belgium, with the help of our fine German colleagues.
    The first time I really got in contact with Web Analytics was back in 2000 where WebTrends’ log analyser first landed on my desk. Also note that I just found out last week in Düsseldorf that I was present in the same room as some other web analytics guys & gals @ a seminar in Amsterdam’s Krasnapolsky hotel more than 7 years ago now, where I first saw Matt Cutler talk about Web Analytics and Netgenesis.
    That was an eye opener!
    By the way, following last weeks’ German experience, I’m thinking about setting up a support group of Netgenesis attendees of this event.
    In any case, I really felt alone back in 2000 and decided to set-up my little Web Analytics business unit also as a support group in order to assure excellence in terms of web analytics and move beyond basic reporting. Today as mentioned, we are a team of 6 dedicated individuals (OX2 has a staff of 21 as of today) and we are the only European member of the WedTrends Insight Network (www.webtrends.com/win), as well as supporting other fine products such as Omniture, WebSideStory, IndexTools, ClickTracks, Unica and Google Analytics.

    So, that’s for me.

    What about you? Please note that searches on both Cristelle Oblin’s name through Google as well as Laurent Barat have been popping-up lately and that same day, your comment was also posted. I will not comment about this and let intelligent readers of this blog fish it out for themselves.
    I would none the less urge you to respect the philosophy of this blog, which is to post about the evolution of web analytics and ideally be the playground for forward thinking discussions about the web analytics field that my team, my company and myself, cherish.
    Following your post, I have also decided not to publish anonymous comments anymore as your 3 comments on this blog do not add to the discussion.

    Second point I wanted to make is about the presentation of this lady, where I will stand my ground, I’m sorry. I consider it to be my right to express my opinion, in full disclosure, on my own blog and remain open for a constructive debate.
    I hope she’ll agree with me that, being a woman, we need to live up to a higher standard and her presentation unfortunately did not. It was scholastic and she did not, in my eyes, radiate the fact that except for reading out slides about what a KPI actually is, her reflection could go beyond that. Now, I might be wrong but through the questions that I asked, I got confirmation about this and invite you to read more about that in my third point.
    Add to that the fact that the content put forward by Mr. Barat regarding so-called ergonomics – which was actually persuasive architecture, please see Furture Now and the very fine Eisenbergs for more information about that – reflected a very backward way of thinking about web analytics & design. Today’s mantra is to stop all these expensive “redesign” projects and really start looking hard at what your online communication is all about and what you are trying to accomplish before ditching it all out of the window and start all over again 3 years from now. Add to that that path analysis (that’s where I really couldn’t believe my ears) does not bring any added value, as visitors are not cows!

    My last point is about Nedstat, Mrs Olbin’s employer. I’m sorry to be ranting about them – I really am, my nationalist pride would really like to take over, I assure you – but for a vendor who claims to be European Leader to consider that third parties are not an issue and continue to ask payment from their clients once they understand they should move onto first party cookies in order to get somewhat closer to reality is a scandal! Please note that I’m not saying that first party cookies are the solution or the ideal reflection of reality but I wanted to point out that indeed Nedstat sends out by default 3rd party cookies and they hide behind “yes but if clients ask for 1st party cookies, we can also do that”.
    They forgot to mention that when you ask for it, you also get an extra bill. Excuse me?
    And this is a call to Nedstat, next time you’re having a coffee next to me, whether it’s in the Netherlands, in France, in Germany, in Belgium and in the UK, please come up to me and explain it, in all transparency.
    I’m not for one vendor or another but I will not ask my clients to pay me to do analysis on data that is not the best that it could be, it does not help the sector I cherish so much and it’s not fair towards my clients.
    Web Analytics is not about the tool you use, it’s about what you do with the data but vendors have a responsibility to assure that the data and reportings they are delivering are in the best format possible. And certainly if they charge these prices…

    I’m aware of the fact that the French market is not as mature as the US one for example but does that mean we should accept lower standards?
    I think not.
    I request excellence from my team, why wouldn’t I request as much from vendors, who are a lot more expensive?
    I would be delighted to hear about a case where Mrs Oblin (and possibly Mr. Barat) actually added to the bottom line of their clients, real Return on Investment. I’m all ears and would be happy to discuss it as well as blog about it.

    So, liveswordfish@yahoo.fr, would you mind if I bought you a drink, in order to allow you to relieve you of your anonymity, and we can discuss for the sake of evolution of this sector we both seem to care about?

    Looking forward to a constructive debate,
    Aurelie Pols
    Web Analytics Team Leader, OX2 – WebAnalytics.be

  3. N’oubliez pas le salon eMarketing du 29 au 30 janvier! « Negligible quantities Says:

    […] J’avais assisté à la première édition avec OX2 et je serai sur le salon le 29 janvier et peut-être aussi le 30 en fonction de mon agenda! Contactez-moi, on trouvera bien moyen de prendre un verre sur le salon […]

  4. OX2 au 2ème Forum E-Marketing les 29 et 30 janvier « Web Analytics .be Blog Says:

    […] Comme l’année précédente, OX2 sera présent en tant que visiteur au 2ème Forum E-Marketing qui aura lieu les 29 et 30 janvier au Palais de Congrès de Paris. […]

Comments are closed.